Food Outreach in Ho Chi Minh City

Help support my trip here: https://risingviolets.nyu.edu/project/4078

Food Justice: “the right of communities everywhere to produce, process, distribute, access, and eat good food regardless of race, class, gender, ethnicity, citizenship, ability, religion, or community.” -Brooklyn Movement Center


 

Food Justice is communities exercising their right to grow, sell, and eat healthy food. Healthy food is fresh, nutritious, affordable, culturally-appropriate, and grown locally with care for the well-being of the land, workers, and animals.


Service Day

We did service everyday for a week except our last day. We prepped & served around 400+ locals a day and got to see our results. Each meal we prepared was highly nutritious: a veggie option usually green beans, a protein, unlimited rice, unlimited soup, and a banana. One day we added bread to the mix. It was great to see that the food kitchens in Ho Chi Minh really cared about what the locals put inside their body and the nutritious value. Here’s a video I made featuring some of our service:

I want to share with you  a little bit of my journal for the first day.

Day 1

8:34AM

We woke up this morning at 6am. I didn’t get to vlog yesterday night as I was sooo exhausted, but I will combine travel day and Day 1 in one vlog tonight. Currently we’re in the road to service, we just dropped off one group and my group will be volunteering at another placement. I won’t write much as I want to enjoy and notice the city as we’re going through but it’s very much colorful. I wish we were here longer so that we could see the rural areas, I think I’d enjoy that.

1:00PM

We just got done with our first day of service and it was amazing! We were a little late but we got to help prepare the green beans which was an experience. I was cutting the green beans and realized I was cutting too off too much, essentially wasting food. Luckily I caught on quickly and learned to cut off only the ends. We helped prepare the trays for the soup kitchen style organization and then hand them out to the locals. I saw mainly older people, my parents age and older. There were only a couple young people and like two children. One lady was super sweet(they are all super sweet!), she wanted to practice her English with me! Being able to prepare amazing meals and then interact with the locals is a great combo for service(indirect + direct), can’t wait for the rest of the days of service!

IMG_4124
Bread!
IMG_9912
Post Service

Leave a Reply

